Turning the ideal into reality, however fleetingly

Most of my posts have been about finding make ahead, quick to table meals that my family will eat for dinner. While we’ve made some progress on that front, despite almost 5 years evidence to the contrary, my husband always has a vision of us sitting down to a meal together where everyone eats what is served and stays at the table for at least 15 minutes. Usually, if we manage 5 minutes and two alternate meals being offered, it’s a typical night at our place.

After a heart to heart and since I am on hiatus, I actually managed to make it happen last night with a little help from ravioli and gelato from Eataly (more on that from my current round up of NYC food indulgences on Laura’s Loves).

I told both girls that if they wanted gelato, it meant eating dinner and staying at the table for the treat. Worked like a charm. I’m not sure a treat after dinner is sustainable in the long term unless it is the only treat of the day and the portions are very modest but maybe if we keep it up for a week or so, the sitting at the table and eating behavior will become more habitual. Thoughts? Alternate strategies that work?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment