Fighting the good fight

So we’re a few weeks in and there have been good weeks and not so good weeks. I think my husband is ready to eat fish sticks and chicken nuggets for the foreseeable future in an attempt to serve one meal that all will eat.

Last week, I seemed to be the only one willing to try the 8 hour slow cooked “pot of gold” sauce (minus the beef chuck plus sliced baby carrots) but Wendy dug into some of my leftovers happily yesterday at lunchtime. I think a low sauce to pasta ratio is key for her. It was delicious by the way!

The Mark Bittman quick roasted chicken was pretty much a disaster however. Step 1 should be ensure that your oven is pristine to avoid setting off the smoke alarm for the duration of roasting and hosting your a visit from your neighbor making sure the whole place isn’t about to go up in smoke!

Never one to give up until way past I should, I persisted (that’s fancy for not giving up for all those other closet Fancy Nancy fans). This week, I tried to both do what I could with what was left in the pantry and fridge and to make at home some stuff we usually get via takeout.

This week’s make at home entrees: stir fry chicken, fried rice, Silver Palate Cookbook lemon chicken, pancetta cheese bread and double chocolate chip cookies (recipe on Trader Joe’s Truffle Brownie mic plus a small handful of white chocolate chips) if you don’t count two batches of Stonewall Kitchen’s strawberry pancakes with strawberry syrup. I’m still waiting for reviews on the lemon chicken but the rest turned out well and the stir fried chicken and fried rice seemed the biggest hit, even with my husband who grew up with great Chinese food. For the chicken, I just marinated thinly sliced boneless thighs with canola oil, light soy sauce, garlic powder and ginger until I was ready to cook and then stir fried in a large, deep skillet with a touch of sesame oil. Afterwards, I used the same skillet for the rice, starting with the onions, adding the beaten egg until cooked and then added the rice, soy sauce, and more oil to taste. After putting some aside for Evie who would spend all her time picking out the veggies, I added some frozen mixed veggies.

For the pancetta bread, I used the Fannie Farmer Cookbook’s basic muffin recipe but added some finely cubes pancetta instead of the sliced bacon and some grated cheese and cooked in a cake pan intend of making muffins. Going to give it a try for breakfast or after school snack for the girls but I’ll eat it, if not. And it might be a nice substitution for quiche at my next brunch party.

And Wendy woke up asking for one of the cookies for breakfast this morning which I negotiated down to an afterschool snack.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

